Calgary Stampeders

Calgary Stampeders

Calgary Stampeders

The Calgary Stampeders team are based in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. They are a professional football team competing in the West Divisional part of the Canadian Football League which also consist of other divisional football apart from the West Division. The Stampeders’ home games are played at McMahon Stadium.

Recognised as the third oldest and active franchise in the Canadian Football League (CFL), it was officially founded in the year 1935 as the Calgary Bronks, and officially confirmed as the Stampeders in 1945.

In terms of honors and achievements, the Stampeders have won seven Grey Cups, with the most recent cup in 2014, with 14 appearances in Grey Cup Championship games. They also hold 19 Western Division Championships and also one Northern Division Championship in the franchise’s history.

The stampeders’ provincial rivals are the Edmonton Eskimos, while their fierce divisional rivals are the Saskatchewan Roughriders and the BC Lions.

The Calgary’s first appearance in Canadian football came in 1891 when they faced Edmonton in an home and away series.

In 1948, a year which was stated as the Stampeder’s greatest season in history after becoming the only Canadian football team ever to achieve a remarkable season with a record of 12–0 and also winning a Grey Cup against the Ottawa Rough Riders at Toronto’s Varsity Stadium.

The team official kit is a combination of red, white and black Jersey with helmet design of red background with a white, running horse which has been in place with slight variations since the 1967 season.

The team current head coach is John Coleman Hufnagel who was a former professional quarterback for the Stampeders. Prior to his appointment as the Stampeders head coach on December 3, 2007, he had led the Stampeders to the Grey Cup title with a 22–14 outstanding victory over the Montreal Alouettes in 2008.

Following his performance in the 2008 Canadian football league season, Hufnagel won the Annis Stukus Trophy award as the CFL’s coach of the year.

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment